The Seven Chakras

The Spinal Altar and the Seven Chakras

The seven major chakras are attached to points along our spinal column, opening to the front of the body. They equate with the seven rays of God. Anchored in the etheric body, these chakras nourish not only the physical form but the etheric, mental and emotional envelopes that clothe the soul.

Crown Chakra Third Eye Chakra Throat Chakra Heart Chakra Solar Plexus Chakra Seat of the Soul Chakra Base of the Spine Chakra

Mouse over each chakra on the image to learn more about it.

Tap a chakra on the image above to learn more about it.

Base of the Spine

  • Color: White
  • Ray: 4th
  • Qualities: Purity, Harmony
  • Ascended Master: Serapis Bey

The base-of-the-spine chakra, governs the life force, called the Kundalini. This potent energy is meant to be activated by the expression of unconditional love. Devotions to the Divine Mothers and the praying of their rosaries are designed to raise the Kundalini flow. The four petals of the base-of-the-spine chakra emit a brilliant white light, which vibrates as the God-quality of purity, the color of the fourth-ray. The ascended master that represents the fourth ray and the base-of-the-spine chakra is Serapis Bey.

Seat of the Soul

  • Color: Violet
  • Ray: 7th
  • Qualities: Freedom, Forgiveness, Mercy
  • Ascended Master: Saint Germain

Located below the navel, this seventh-ray chakra is called the seat-of-the-soul chakra. The soul is an impermanent part of our being that can choose to seek reunion with God and ultimately, immortality in that union. This six-petaled chakra emanates the color violet. The violet light radiates forgiveness, mercy and freedom. It is the color of the seventh ray and the Saint Germain is the ascended master associated with this chakra and ray.

Solar Plexus

  • Color: Purple and Gold
  • Qualities: Peace, Service
  • Ascended Master:
    Lady Master Nada

The solar plexus chakra, governs the emotions. Located in the midriff area of the body it has ten petals and emanates the colors of purple and gold, flecked with ruby. Mastery of this chakra is mastery of the emotions. Purple and gold vibrate as the God-qualities of peace and service to life. Purple and gold are sixth-ray colors. Lady Master Nada represents the sixth ray.


  • Color: Pink
  • Qualities: Love, Compassion
  • Ascended Master:
    Paul the Venetian

The heart chakra is located in the center of the chest. Even as the heart is the most vital organ in the body, the heart chakra contains a secret chamber where our divine spark, the threefold flame, resides. A blazing pink sun is this chakra! As the twelve petals swirl, the vibration of unconditional love is the God-quality emanating. Pink is the color of the third ray and the ascended master Paul the Venetian is its representative.


  • Color: Blue
  • Qualities: Power, Will, Faith
  • Ascended Master: El Morya

Sixteen petals spin in a blaze of sky-blue glory when the throat chakra is activated. Called the power center, the throat chakra can create or destroy by the science of sound. Blue vibrates as the first ray of God’s will, faith and power. The sounding of the OM and the recitation of sacred mantras are a vital work of this chakra. Vocal prayers, such as those found in the Prayers and Songs page of The Hearts Center website were created to employ this chakra in the science of invocation. The Lord of the First Ray is El Morya.

Third Eye

  • Color: Green
  • Qualities: Vision, Healing, Abundance, Truth
  • Ascended Master: Hilarion

The third-eye chakra is located between our eyes and a bit above them. There is a connection between this chakra and the mystical pineal gland. Emanating in emerald green the quality of God-vision, the ability to see each person and situation as perfect and complete, this chakra vibrates with the fifth ray. Green is the color of not only God-vision but healing and truth. The chakra’s 96 petals radiate only divine perfection. Hilarion is the master representing the fifth ray and the third-eye chakra.


  • Color: Yellow
  • Qualities: Wisdom, Illumination
  • Ascended Master: Lord Lanto

Referred to as the thousand-petaled chakra and the chakra of illumination, the crown chakra, is located at the top of the head. It is meant to blaze in a corona of golden light rays around our heads. Golden-yellow is the vibration of God-wisdom. This is the chakra of the Buddha.

In ascended master teaching, the purpose of the raising of the Mother Light of the base-of-the-spine chakra is to ultimately meet the Father Light in the crown. This union of Father and Mother come to rest in the heart chakra, where the Christ is born, the Buddha Nature emerges. This action magnetizes the Holy Spirit of God into our beings. We are filled with light and may offer humbly a more-than-ordinary service to life. The ascended master Lanto is Lord of the Second Ray.

So there are seven ascended masters that represent the seven chakras. They are referred to as the Lords of the Seven Rays. And just as these seven chakras play a most vital role within our bodies, the Lords of the Seven Rays desire to impact our spiritual path with their presence.

Whirling Energy Centers

In Eastern traditions, it is taught that our bodies have many thousands of chakras. Some schools say as many as 88,000! The ascended masters bring to our attention 144 of them and have shared a great detail concerning the seven major chakras that follow the line of the spinal column. In Sanskrit, chakra means wheel. Chakras have been described as flower or lotus-like in shape, projecting out somewhat like a trumpet or a lily. And they whirl! Possessing varying numbers of petals, chakras are both receivers and transformers of God’s light, God’s energy as this energy is delivered to each living soul from her Solar Presence through the crystal cord. This energy also surrounds us in the very air we breathe, and it bathes us as the rays from the sun. It is this light, radiation, prana, life force that the chakras transform into various frequencies needed to sustain our four lower bodies.

So it is evident that without chakras we would not be living, breathing, animated beings. But even though the chakras of all souls were created equal in the beginning, through embodiments of misuse and neglect, our chakras truly need some attention. They need infusions of light. They need to spin and spin rapidly. In joyful, thankful, spiritually-advanced people, the chakras are symmetrically shaped, larger, emanating a pure light, and whirling like the dancers of the dervish. Healthy chakras mean a healthy individual!